Grateful for {closing doors,opening doors}

I’ve worked part-time at a school for the past (almost) five years.

A month ago, I decided to resign. Tomorrow is my last day.

It’s a decision that I have contemplated the last few months.  Even though I love my job, and especially the 27 little darlings I work with, I found myself wondering; do I NEED to be doing this? I didn’t.  Being a tired, working mum/wife is not all it’s cracked up to be.   It was never something that I started out to do – I was approached to fill a position when Paige was still a toddler “temporarily”.  Three positions and two schools later, I find myself where I am today.

Am I going to miss it? Yes, definitely.  Will I ever go back to working? I don’t know.  What will I do with all that time? My days are already filling up fast.  Doors may be closing, but other doors are opening.  Ideas that I have had on the back-burner for years are now becoming possibilities.

I’m grateful for having been able to have the strength to work.  I’m also grateful that I have been able to make this decision and stick to it.  There have been days where my heart said “Just one more term.”  Thankful that I have a supportive husband and understanding boss.

Grateful for the opportunities that are ahead and knowing that God will give me the strength to find contentment as a stay at home mum.

Linking up with Maxabella loves @ Village Voices

13 thoughts on “Grateful for {closing doors,opening doors}

  1. Here’s to new beginnings! You’ve done well to last 5 years, not sure if I would have lasted 5 days! I can’t imagine the exhaustion you must have felt juggling home and work. Hope you enjoy your last day tomorrow. Will there be cake? Surely there’ll be cake. I bet you’ll be missed.

  2. Life changes and we are always lucky if our choices can change with it. I hope you enjoyed your last day and you enjoy the extra time you will have to keep the home fires burning!!!

    x

    • Thanks. It’s going to take a little bit to get used to certain things..like having less control over $$ but I am looking forward to it. The last day was great, and I have only had a few “what have I done?” moments since. The upside is more time with the kids after school, more time blogging (not sure if that is an upside) and having more energy. x

  3. Big decision, Tash! I have no doubt that you will find many ways in which to use your gifts to God’s glory in this new stage of life. You don’t strike me as someone to sit idle!

  4. Pingback: Grateful for {book club reconvenes} | little bit of thyme

Hi there! Nice to see you! Let me know what you think.

