if vegie gardens could talk..

mine would tell me in no uncertain terms that she has had enough of being neglected.

I have two small, two tiered vegie gardens and one long vegie garden in our little patch of suburbia. Year round, I have herbs growing successfully, as long as the lawn Nazi does not get any weed and feed anywhere near them.   Seasonally I usually have crops of spinach, different varieties of lettuce, beetroot, carrots, tomatoes, capsicum, onions, celery, garlic, chillies, rhubarb, broccoli and varieties of beans. This winter I decided to let it all go dormant as I just didn’t have the time to do it justice, but as it is warming up again, I will be starting to get the ground ready for spring planting.

My vegie gardens are of the no-dig variety.  Layers of newspaper, pea hay, and compost make up a rich concoction in which vegies thrive. I keep it all organic and do not use fertilisers or pest control on them.  Nothing like going outside with a torch on a tiny green caterpillar hunt on a summer night, plus salad preparation is never boring when you find little uninvited guests while you are washing the freshly picked leaves. This weekend there will be a trip to the local soil yard to pick up some bags of mushroom compost to start the spring planting process. From there it will be a few weeks before I do anything else as I have learned from past experience not to rush planting any seeds or seedlings into fresh compost as they tend to burn and shrivel in the Perth sun.

Do you have a vegie garden? If you have kids, do you involve them?

Oh – and this happens when you try to take photos with a big oaf around. Photo bombed by the hound.

 

 

 

One thought on “if vegie gardens could talk..

  1. Pingback: Pop-up Patch [Melb] « Find a Pop-Up Shop

Hi there! Nice to see you! Let me know what you think.

