Suburban Test Kitchen {bill granger: feed me now! – roast chicken curry}


I am a cook book snob.  And one of my favourite cooks would be Bill Granger.  Simple recipes, they always turn out great, normal ingredients, great looking cookbooks.  Rob spoilt me by taking me to the Perth launch of his “Everyday” cookbook many moons ago.  So I met Bill, got him to sign a copy of the book – he wrote something vague about “always cooking with love” and we got to have dinner with him.  It was there that I fell in love with him feta.  Feta, with baby pea sprouts and watercress salad.

Anyway, I decided that in my retirement,  I would use my cookbooks more.  Try some new recipes and review them here.  So here goes…

From Bill’s cookbook “Feed Me Now!”  Roast Chicken Curry

Ingredients

1.5kg (3lb 5oz) chicken, jointed into eight pieces

2 tbsp red-curry paste

2 tbsp fish sauce (nam pla)

1 tbsp brown sugar

400g (14oz) tin chopped tomatoes

To serve

Basil and coriander leaves (optional)

Lime wedges

Method

With a sharp knife, slash the thickest parts of the chicken legs and thighs so they cook evenly. In a large bowl, combine the curry paste, coconut milk, fish sauce and sugar. Place the chicken pieces in a baking-tray (in which they fit quite snugly) and pour over the curry mixture. Leave to marinate for at least an hour, or overnight if time permits.

Add the tomatoes and gently mix through. Bake in an oven preheated to 190°C/375°F/gas mark 5 for 40 minutes or until the chicken is browned and the juices run clear when the thickest parts are pierced with a skewer (if necessary, finish under the grill to brown). Scatter some basil and coriander leaves over the curry, if you like, and serve with lime wedges, warm Indian breads and salad.

What I did different

  • I used a whole chicken – they were on special the week before.  I cut that up and then slashed it.
  • I used a tin of curry paste  – had more liquid.
  • I only marinated it for about three minutes – ok, I was in a hurry.  Don’t tell Bill.
  • It took longer in my oven – more like an hour and a half.  Might have been the baking dish I used.
  • We had it with basmati.

Pros/cons

  • Super easy recipe if you have all the ingredients.
  • It was great with rice – but would have been better with a crunchy salad (as Bill suggested)
  • Would be a great recipe to marinate and freeze, or use as a drop off meal for someone.
  • It wasn’t spicy at all – so don’t let the “curry” bit put you off.

Look above for what Bill’s version looked like.  Here was my effort.  A little less stylized, but seriously tasty (and with steam. Bill obviously let his cook down before he took a photo)  Try it!

 

2 thoughts on “Suburban Test Kitchen {bill granger: feed me now! – roast chicken curry}

  1. Made this today! Tho I forgot to buy rice, so had it with homemade naan and some veggies. Used a whole chicken too and then splattered sauce everywhere trying to cut the leftovers up for lunches :)

Hi there! Nice to see you! Let me know what you think.

