Vege Gardens {diy garlic pest spray}

When you put the time and effort and money into establishing any sort of vegetable garden, you need to think about pest control.  For home gardens, especially when you have children and pets (who have a liking to snacking on the veggies while they are outside..) there is no alternative than going organic for pest control.  There are many organic  sprays on the market, but as they still use ingredients that I don’t know enough about, and as I like to know that what I am putting on my veggies in the morning will be safe enough to eat that night, I make my own.

All you need is:

1 tablespoon Soap Flakes

4 cloves of Garlic peeled and crushed (or just cheat like me and buy the ready minced..)

1 litre Water

Method:

Combine all the ingredients into a saucepan and heat till boiling.  Allow to simmer for ten minutes.  At this stage your kitchen will smell dubiously like an Italian Mamma’s on washing day…  Allow to cool, and then strain.  When totally cool, pour into a spray bottle.  Spray liberally over leaves and if you are able, spray under the leaves.

Can be used for aphids on roses as well.

 

4 thoughts on “Vege Gardens {diy garlic pest spray}

    • I don’t actually know, because every batch I make, I use straight away. Because I have just doubled the size of my veggie garden, I will be doubling the quantity. You can add chilli as well, but as Bundy does eat the odd tomato, spinach plant I try to stay away from it.

Hi there! Nice to see you! Let me know what you think.

